image

My body aches, the legs burning from having to walk for hours carrying behind me a vegetable cart. The sins that I carry on behind me, assorted in all it’s glory.
Colorful vegetables.
The sun beats down on my back as the wind lazily hangs in the air, my lungs draw out dust in the form of a cough. Spitting it on the side of the road I carry on. Pulling my long gone sins behind me. Her face just materializes in front of my face. A simmering image. I can’t even seem to remember how she used to look like. I don’t have a eesmartpone like the loku mahathaya or his son. I’m just a poor man trying to feed my children where their Amma passed away. She was the most wonderful woman in the world. I still have a picture that Loku mahathaya kept of us during our wedding. That’s all. I hope that my children grow up to become good citizens in this country.
Putting it all  behind me I carry on. My body might be tired and frustrated but my soul is lighted up. From the children, all I ask is for them to educate themselves. I’m not long for this earth. I’ve lived enough. But as long as she walks beside me I will have the courage to walk for my children.

